A brief interlude…

Before we finish the tale of The Guy I Liked.

I’m just writing really because I can’t sleep. I’ve always been rubbish at sleeping… unless it’s the morning and I need to get up. I could go pro then.

I used to be crap at that too when I was a kid. I remember my parents talking about having a lie in at the weekend and I thought ‘Why on earth would anyone want to do that? Why would you want to miss part of the weekend?!’

I supposed a parent-mandated bedtime and the thrill of it not being a school day were massive contributors to that feeling.

When I was a baby apparently I barely ever slept. It appears that old habits die hard. It must have been hellish for my parents: sorry guys! I now understand the joys of sleep. Sometimes.

On the plus side, being awake at this ridiculous hour (it’s nearly 5 am) does mean that I’ve found out the results of the US election. I don’t know why but it’s kinda nice knowing this early. Everyone else will wake up to it. I was there a half hour after it was announced in America.

I wonder if Americans find it odd that Brits (and probably the rest of the world) are so interested and informed about their politics? I mean the US is obviously rather powerful in the world but I think it’s also partly the drama of it. The politicians there seem larger than life. It seems exciting, it seems dramatic. Having seen ‘The West Wing’ helps – I think I understand the workings a bit more.

The huge contrast between the two parties is fascinating as well. In Britain our politicians just seem like various shades of grey. Personally and politically. The last election was somewhat more interesting as the third party actually seemed to have a chance for, what seemed like, the first time ever. It was the most exciting thing to happen in the Houses of Parliament since Guy Fawkes tried to blow it up, I expect.

Said party of course turned out to be lying, spineless jerks in the end. But for a moment, just a moment, we had real excitement in British politics!

But America? I am so glad you chose Obama. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

